Changes at the NHBS

 Chairman David Fletcher announced changes taking place within the Society in the latest edition of the NHBS Newsletter No 74 October 2017.

Peter and Sheena Ferguson have taken over editorship of the NHBS Journal from Dick Bradshaw.  Articles and pictures for the Journal would be most welcome and should be sent to Peter via email or by post to The Maltings, 29Pilton Street, Barnstable, EX31 1PJ

General Secretary Jim Speed has taken over management of the NHBS Website, should you have news items or website enquiries contact, by email or by post at 102 Forest Road, Melksham, Wiltshire SN12 7AE.

 Brian O'Riordan although would like to stand down as Treasurer will continue to produce the Newsletter and would be pleased to receive items for inclusion, contact by email or by post to 8 Cassiobury Park Avenue, Watford, Herts, WD18 7LB

Other snippets from the Newsletter.

The Committee has now, following legal advice, approved a tightening up of the NHBS Rules concerning abuse on the Internet and these will be put to the AGM in March next year for formal endorsement.

The winner of the Membership Brass design for 2018 was No 5 by Alec Hopkinson

2018 Membership Brass Winning Entry Congratulations Alec !


Please note that the UK member’s subscriptions have been increased by £3.00.We would request any member who pays by standing order to make out a new order for the appropriate amount.


Recorded in the Newsletter are those who have recently joined the Society and those who have been called to the Grand Collectors Gallery Above.  The most recent are as follows.

The Chairman and Committee would like to welcome the following new members:

Ms. Margaret Birley, London Mrs. S E Clarke, Streatley, Reading
Mr. Nick Fletcher, Spalding, Lincs. Mr. Andy Hopkinson, Danesmoor, Chesterfield
Ms. Jayne Luoma, Kelowna B.C., Canada Mr. Dave Mann, Coxsheath, Kent
Mr. Dennis Maycock, Taunton, Somerset Mr. John Price, Hereford, Herefordshire
Ms. Hilary Seals, Ashbourne, Derbyshire Mr Michael Varney, Derby, Derbyshire
Mrs Grace White, Weymouth, Dorset.

We regret to announce the deaths of the following members and send our deepest sympathies to their families and friends:

Mr Ivan Beale, Oakington. Mrs. Joy Hull, Axminster, Devon
Mrs Goulden, Tenterden Mr Ray Neave, Smallburgh, Norwich
Mr Roger Newbury, Exmouth, Devon Mr Mark Roberts, St. Asaph, Denbeighshire
Roy Spicer Australia